Follow Us On:

Winner’s Circle

May 6, 2004

Alberta Venture salutes those individuals and companies who have been singled out for recognition of their accomplishments. Send your notices of awards or appointments to feedback

SAM Awards
The Edmonton Region Home Builders’ Association celebrated the achievements and innovations introduced by new home builders and renovators at its annual awards held on March 20. Awards were handed out to the following companies:
Abbey Lane Homes
Ackard Contractors Ltd.
Burke Perry Master Builder Inc.
Carma Developers Ltd.
Christenson Developments Ltd.
Cobblestone Development Corporation
Coronet Electric Inc.
Greenboro Homes Ltd.
Hawthorne Homes, a division
of Carma Developers
Heredity Homes (St. Albert) Ltd.
Jayman Master Builder Inc.
Landmark Master Builders Inc.
PC Renovations Inc.
Pacesetter Homes Ltd.
Park Royal Homes
Reid Built Homes Master Builder
Summerhill Communities Inc.
Touchwood Flooring Ltd.
Trail Appliances Ltd.
Vinterra Properties Inc.
• Salesperson of the Year
(General Member)
Len Lane, Summerhill Homes Inc.
• Rookie Salesperson of the Year
(Single Family)
Heather Kachawski,
Greenboro Homes Ltd.
• Salesperson of the Year (Single Family)
Ali Shoucair, Greenboro Homes Ltd.
• Rookie Salesperson of the Year
Gordon Edmiston, Rohit Group
• Salesperson of the Year (Multi-family)
Lisa Nelson, Summerhill
Communities Inc.
• Marketing Person of the Year
Len Lane, Summerhill Homes Inc.

Key Women in Energy Awards
RaderEnergy, a Houston-based energy consultant firm, announced the results of its second annual global awards program which acknowledges excellence and ongoing development of the role of women in the energy industry. Awards were presented April 1 in Washington, D.C.
Linda Cook, Shell Canada Limited
Sherry Lee MacDonald, EPCOR
Catherine Hughes, Schlumberger Canada

In March, the Engineering Institute of Canada recognized the outstanding achievements and service of its members at the
institutes’s annual awards gala.
Norman Beaulieu, University of Alberta
Dennis Becker, Golder Associates
David Cruden, University of Alberta
Amin Ghali, University of Calgary
Kenneth Porteous, University of Alberta

In March, Calgary Economic Development and University of Calgary’s Haskayne School of Business honoured companies that have demonstrated excellence in international business activities.
• Calgary Export Achievement Award
for Innovative Approaches
ENCOM Wireless Data Solutions Inc.
• Calgary Export Achievement Award
for Collaborative Partnerships
Wi-LAN Inc.
• Calgary Export Achievement Award
for Corporate Social Responsibility
Print Audit Inc.
• Hal Godwin Award for Excellence in
International Business
Nancy Knowlton and David Martin, Smart Technologies Inc.
• Macleod Dixon International Achievement Award (Faculty)
Julie Rowney, Haskayne School of Business
• Export Development Canada Student Achievement Award
Ana Galdon
• Haskayne School of Business Student Achievement Award
Erin Thomson

BioWare Corp.’s Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic was named game of the year by the International Game Developers Association. The Choice Awards are the premier accolades for peer recognition in game development. BioWare also picked up a second award for excellence in writing and original game character of the year for the droid HK-47.

Ad Rodeo
Calgary’s advertising, marketing and design industry celebrated its annual awards program on April 2 to honour excellence. Anvil awards in various categories were handed out to the following companies:
Trigger Communications & Design
• Newspaper Single
• Newspaper Series
• TV Single
• TV Series
• Transit Single
• Free-standing Insert/Flyer
• Craft-art Direction
Highwood Communications
• Magazine Single
• Magazine Series
• Transit Series
• Outdoor Single
• Outdoor Series
• Direct Marketing
• Point of Purchase
• Packaging
• Corporate Image/Logo/Identity
• Digital Offline
• Guerrilla
• Advertising Campaign
• Media Innovation
• Best of Show
Ogilvy & Mather
• Radio Single
• Radio Series
• Poster Single
• Business to Business
MacLaren McCann
• Brochure/Catalogue
• Poster Series
• Specialty Advertising
SasgesWright Inc.
• Annual Report
• Craft
Rare Method
• Digital Online Websites
• Public Service
Vangool Design
• Self-Promotion
Smith & Associates
• Best Illustration Published in a Piece of Advertising or Design
Clay Stang
• Best Photography Published in a Piece of Advertising or Design
Scott Shymko/Andy Leung
• Ogilvy & Mather Student Competition
Arlene Dickinson, Venture Communications
• Lifetime Achievement Award
Margaret Kool Marketing
• Ipsos Reid Award

In March, Natural Resources Canada honoured the following Albertan companies for their innovations and achievements in energy efficiency:
• New Buildings
Manasc Isaac Architects for the Hinton Government Centre
• Building Products and Energy Management Technology
City of Calgary for the EnviroSmart Streetlights Retrofit

Lethbridge realtor Mary Gordon is one of three people in Canada to receive the Coldwell Banker President’s Award. Presented in March, the award acknowledges Gordon’s commitment to service in providing professional real estate services.

Suncor Energy Inc., BP Canada Energy Company, ATCO Gas and Ken Plourde of Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc. were recognized by the Ministry of Natural Resources Canada for leadership in reducing greenhouse gas emissions on March 30.

Michael Grandin has been named dean of the Haskayne School of Business at the University of Calgary for a five-year term. Grandin was the president of PanCanadian Energy Corp. when it merged with Alberta Energy Company Ltd. to form EnCana
Corporation. He is presently the chair and CEO of Fording Canadian Coal Trust.

Dan Stewart has been appointed to the position of vice-president, organization and business effectiveness, at the Alberta Electric System Operator (AESO). Stewart’s responsibilities will include human resources and business process management.

Eward Bogle is Nexen Inc.’s newly appointed vice-president, international portfolio management.

In April, the Gemini Corporation’s 2002 annual report produced by Calgary’s SasgesWright Inc. received a Distinctive Merit Award by New York’s Art Directors Club.


Alberta Venture welcomes your comments. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers. Review our comments policy. If you see a typo or error on our site, report it to us. Please include a link to the story where you spotted the error.

Comments are closed.