Follow Us On:

Clive Beddoe inducted to Aviation HOF, TEC Canada appoints new CEO, Athabasca University names interim president

The Spotlight: Celebrating Alberta business

Jun 6, 2014

by Jim Kerr

TEC Canada has appointed Catherine Osler as CEO and Ken MacLeod as president and COO. Both Osler and MacLeod have a long history with the organization, starting out as members before becoming chairs and joining the executive management team.

  • Manitok Energy is welcoming Tim Jerhoff to the fold as the corporation’s new vice president of production an engineering. Jerhoff has over 25 years of experience in the Canadian oil and gas industry, including his most recent role as the manager of the Clearwater South Production at Encana Corporation.
  • Peter MacKinnon has been named the interim president of Athabasca University. MacKinnon was the president of the University of Saskatchewan for 13 years, after serving as the dean of law there for a decade. MacKinnon’s term will last until June 2015.
  • The Alberta Forest Products Association has named Paul Whittaker its new president and CEO. Whittaker has over three decades of experience with the Government of Alberta, including his most recent positions as Deputy Minister of Municipal Affairs and president of the Alberta Social Housing Corporation.

Want to be included in the next Spotlight? Submit your news or events here!


beddoeAV99Clive Beddoe is the newest member of Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame.

The chairman of WestJet’s board of directors, and one of the founders of the airline, was inducted into the hall of fame at a ceremony in the WestJet hangar in Calgary last month. WestJet CEO Gregg Saretsky says, “Clive has become an example of what success looks like amid all the variables and volatility [of the aviation industry].” The honour comes 15 years after Beddoe was featured on the cover of Alberta Venture as the Business Person of the Year for 1999.

Lorna de Blicquy, Robert Engle and Frederick Moore were also inducted.


Alberta Venture welcomes your comments. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers. Review our comments policy. If you see a typo or error on our site, report it to us. Please include a link to the story where you spotted the error.

Comments are closed.