Follow Us On:

Exceptional Albertans to receive honorary degrees from the University of Alberta; Economic Developers Alberta recognizes outstanding individuals and organizations

The Spotlight: Celebrating Alberta Business

Apr 11, 2016

by Willow White

The University of Alberta has announced the 11 recipients to be awarded honorary degrees this spring at the university’s convocation ceremonies. A number of Albertans will be recognized including Stephen Mandel, Dr. Tony Fields, Francis Morris Flewwelling, Mark Carney and Venture Publishing CEO and founder, Ruth Kelly. Other recipients include the Lieutenant-General the Honourable Roméo Dallaire, Salah Bachir, Jocelyn Bell Burnell, Jerome Nriagu, Mary Robinson and Indira Samarasekera.

Elizabeth Maishlish, in-house legal counsel for the the Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council (AMVIC), has been named to Auto Remarketing Canada’s 2016 Class of Remarketing’s Under 40.

Dilwari Group of Companies has announced that Tim A. Reuss, previously the president and CEO of Mercedes-Benz Canada, will take over as president. Ruess has over 27 years of leadership experience.

Michael D. Kahn is the new chief financial officer of eQube gaming, an Edmonton-based community and charitable gaming company. Kahn has significant experience in capital markets, mergers and acquisitions and advising.

The Society of American Business Editors and Writers has announced nominees for its Canadian Best in Business competition. Two Alberta Venture stories were nominated including Tim Querengesser’s “Given The History” and Omar Mouallem’s “Edmonton’s Porn King.

TerraVest Capital has announced that Mitch DeBelser will be the new president of TerraVest’s oil and gas fabrication division. The Vegreville-based company is a manufacturer of fuel containment and pressure vessels and an oil field service provider.

Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) has presented its annual Awards of Excellence. Individual Albertans recognized include Chris King (County of Grande Prairie), Tyler Westover (Strathcona County) and Heather Anderson (Woodlands County). The communities and organizations recognized include: the Rural Alberta Business Centre, Airdrie Economic Development, Alberta Women Entrepreneurs, the City of Wetaskiwin, the Town of Okotoks, Edmonton Economic Development Corporation, City of St. Albert, Alberta South West Regional Alliance and the City of Edmonton.


Alberta Venture welcomes your comments. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers. Review our comments policy. If you see a typo or error on our site, report it to us. Please include a link to the story where you spotted the error.

Comments are closed.