Follow Us On:

University of Alberta students affected by wildfire receive bursaries; Red Deer brewery recognized at 2016 World Beer Cup; Alberta Chamber of Commerce announces new executive committee

The Spotlight: Celebrating Alberta Business

May 20, 2016

by Willow White

Student’s at the University of Alberta who have been affected by the northern Alberta wildfires, either from losing their homes or employment, are being assisted with financial aid. The Disaster Relief Bursary is open to undergraduate and graduate students whose lives have been impacted through a natural disaster like a wildfire.

An Alberta beer created by Troubled Monk Brewery of Red Deer has received second place at the 2016 World Beer Cup in the category of American-style brown ale. There were 81 beers entered in the category, and over 6,000 beers entered at the event overall.

The Alberta Chamber of Commerce has announced its executive committee for the 2016-2017 year. Sean Ballard, director of innovation for ATB Financial, has been named chair. Chair-elect is Chris Dugan, the managing partner of Case Receivable Management in Sherwood Park. Shauna Feth, executive director of the Alberta Business Family Institute at the University Of Alberta, is the first vice-chair. Shawna Miller, an entrepreneur and owner of several Subway restaurants in northern Canada, is the second vice-chair. Treasurer is Rosetta Taylor, branch manager for ATB’s Spruce Grove Branch.

Women Building Futures has announced the graduation of its first Ironworker Readiness class. WBF is a trades training organization for women and a partnership between the North West Redwater Partnership (NWR) and the Alberta Ironworkers Apprenticeship and Training Plan (Local 720).

The Children’s Wish Foundation of Canada will celebrate its 30-year anniversary in Alberta with a gala in Calgary on May 25, 2016. Over 2,000 Albertan children have received wishes since 1986, ranging from mountain bikes to trips to Disneyworld.

The Philip J. Currie Dinosaur Museum has been recognized as one of the top 2015-16 museum openings in the world by Conde Nast Traveler. Located outside of Grande Prairie, the museum sits near one of the densest bone beds in the world.

The Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) has announced two Albertan recipients of the Award of Excellence. Alberta Energy Regulator and Alberta Health Services were named amongst 41 others.

James Prieur has been appointed to the board of directors of the Alberta Investment Management Corporation (AIMCo). Previously, Prieur was the CEO of CNO Financial Group.

Cameron Baty and Karina Birch, co-owners of Rocky Mountain Soap Company, will be awarded with the 2016 Independent Retail Ambassador of the Year Award. The Award is given out by the Retail Council of Canada (RCC).


Alberta Venture welcomes your comments. Please stay on topic and be respectful of other readers. Review our comments policy. If you see a typo or error on our site, report it to us. Please include a link to the story where you spotted the error.

Comments are closed.