Follow Us On:

Alberta’s Business Person of the Year

Peace Hills Insurance CEO Diane Brickner is the 2013 Business Person of the Year

Alberta Venture’s Business Person of the Year honours an individual in our business community who has made an impressive impact on not only the economy, but the workforce and the people too. Alberta Venture’s proprietary Business Person of the Year program has been recognized on the cover of the December issues of Alberta Venture for the past 16 years.

Click here to read the full profile of Diane.

Questions? If you have questions about Alberta’s Business Person of the Year program or nomination process, please contact Mike Ganley, Editor of Albert Venture at 780-990-0839 ext 243 or email

Past recipients include:

2012 – Gregg Saretsky, WestJet
2011 – Nancy Southern, ATCO Group
2010 – Don Lowry, EPCOR
2009 – Larry Pollock, Canadian Western Bank
2008 – W. Brett Wilson, Prairie Merchant Corp.
2007 – James Kinnear, Pengrowth Energy Trust
2006 – Ross Grieve, PCL family of companies
2005 – Charlie Fischer, Nexen Inc.

2004 – Dr. Sam Shaw, NAIT
2003 – Bill Comrie, The Brick
2002 – John Forzani, The Forzani Group
2001 – Rick George, Suncor
2000 – Harry Buddle, Capital City Savings
1999 – Clive Beddoe, WestJet
1998 – Martin Lambert, Bennett Jones LLP
1997 – Ron Triffo, Stantec

The 2012 Alberta’s Business Person of the Year – WestJet’s President and CEO Gregg Saretsky

Photograph Colin Way

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

It’s a cardinal rule when it comes to running a business. Yet in his first year as WestJet’s president and CEO, Gregg Saretsky decided to break it – big time. Read More →