The 2007 List of Alberta’s 50 Most Influential People

Edmonton, Alberta (July 3 2007) – Featuring Premier Ed Stelmach, Mayor of Wood Buffalo Melissa Blake, Calgary Stampede CEO Vern Kimball, and Entrepreneur of the Year Timothy Melton—just to name a few–July’s issue of Alberta Venture reveals the annual list of Alberta’s most influential people.

Since 1997, Alberta Venture magazine has been publishing its annual list of Alberta’s 50 Most Influential People; and over the past 10 years, the list has grown into a highly anticipated annual feature reflecting the changing face of Alberta’s political, economic and social landscape.

The list of Alberta’s 50 Most Influential People is selected by Alberta Venture’s editorial committee with the support of recommendations brought forward by Alberta’s business community. With past influentials including Stephen Harper, Eric Newell and Clive Beddoe, the list lauds those individuals who through their personal and professional accomplishments, have helped determine the future well-being of this province.

Attached is the list in its entirety. The July issue of Alberta Venture is on news stands starting July 1st and online at For all media inquiries, please contact Mike McCullough, Editor, at email or 780.990.0839 x.243.

Also: As a companion event, Alberta Venture co-presents our ninth annual Assured Developments Most Influential Golf Tournament, taking place at Stewart Creek Golf and Country Club in Canmore on Wednesday, August 22, 2007.

Here’s your chance to golf with Alberta’s Most Influential on one of the destination golf courses in Canada. All proceeds will be benefiting our charity of choice, Women Building Futures, a not-for-profit program that works to help women build better lives and achieve economic prosperity by training them for a career in construction trades.
For details of this event, please contact Amy Fung for more details. email or 780.990.0839 x. 244

The 2007 List of Alberta’s 50 Most Influential People

Executive Director: Julie Ball, Talent Pool Development Society

Research Chair: Reginald Bibby, University of Lethbridge

Mayor: Melissa Blake, Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo

Senator in Waiting: Bert Brown

Herman Bruin, Bruin’s Plumbing and Heating Ltd.

Director: Gary Burns

Chair: Robert Carwell, Ed Stelmach Campaign

Co-chair: John Dielwart, Coalition of Canadian Energy Trusts

Murray Edwards, CNRL, Penn West

Brigade General: David Fraser, Canadian Forces

CEO: Max Gibb, United Horsemen of Alberta

CEO: George Gosbee, Tristone Capital Inc.

CEO : Ross Greive, PCL

Executive Director: Jim Gurnett, Edmonton Mennonite Centre for Newcomers

Prime Minister: Stephen Harper

Founding Partner: Wayne Henuset, Energy Alberta Corp.

Chair: Harley Hotchkiss, NHL Board of Governors

Chair: Bill Hunter, Royalty Review Panel

Principal: David Jefferies, Ziedler Partnership

President and CEO: Tom Katinas, Syncrude Canada

Chair: Daryl Katz, The Katz Group of Companies

Co-chair: Gordon Kerr, Coalition of Canadian Energy Trusts

CEO: Vern Kimball, Calgary Exhibition & Stampede

President: Perry Kincaide, Alberta Council of Technologies

President & CEO: Nancy Knowlton, Smart Technologies

Chair: Bern Kotelko, AVAC Ltd.

Peter Lougheed, Former Premier of Alberta

Director: Robert Mansell, Institute for Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economy, University of Calgary

Chair: Timothy Melton, Melcor Developments Ltd.

Chief: Ron Morin, Enoch Cree Nation

President and CEO: Donald Oborowsky, Waiward Steel Fabricators

Chair: Brian O’Leary, Calgary Homeless Foundation

Minister: Jim Prentice, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada

CEO: Ken Read, Alpine Canada

Executive Director: Marlo Reynolds, Pembina Institute

Co-chair: Sue Riddell Rose, Coalition of Canadian Energy Trusts

President: Indira Samarasekera, University of Alberta

President: Lloyd Snelgrove, President of the Treasury Board

Executive Director: Michele Stanners, Alberta Ballet

Brad Stelfox, Environmental Futurist

Premier: Ed Stelmach, Province of Alberta

Mayor: John Stutz, Banff

Co-chair: Hank Swartout, United Way Campaign Calgary

Don Taylor: Engineered Air

Ruth Taylor: Engineered Air

Co-founder: Yvonne Tollens, ComputerAid Professional Services

Executive Director: Larry Wall, Alberta Industrial Heartland Association

President and CEO: Sheila Weartherill, Capital Health

Chair, CEO: Columba Yeung, Value Creation Inc.

Lawyer: Grant Zawalsky, Burnet Duckworth & Palmer LLP

For more information or interviews contact:Joyce Byrne
780.990.0839 x247
1.866.227.4276 x 247